It’s the weekend!! Not for me :(

Standard

It’s been a while!

Unsurprisingly I’ve been horrendously busy at work this week, getting home late and just grabbing the closest food in sight. My usual time to be a bit creative is at weekends. Last weekend I travelled home to my parents’ house to stay with my sisters while my parents went away. Unfortunately my sisters are the fussiest beings known to man, eating only bland boring foods and shirking away from anything with flavour in it – not particularly conducive to rustling up a storm in the kitchen!

Tonight was the closest I came to encountering anything marginally exciting food-wise. The other day in Tesco I came across vacuum-packed pouches of mussels. I’ve been meaning to try these for ages as I love mussels and these particular ones were flavoured with tomato and chorizo – I’m never one to turn down a bit of chorizo! 7 minutes boiled in the bag and they’re ready – so so simple. I paired them with some spaghetti (would have gone for linguine if I’d had any!), added a dash of wine and drizzled over olive oil and then started munching! However, unlike using a lovely bread such as ciabatta or baguette to mop up the juices, I’m slightly ashamed I had to make do with sliced white bread… It served the same purpose though!

IMG_2341

IMG_2342

As I sit here writing this on a chilled Friday evening watching David Attenborough’s new TV programme (watch it!!) with a cup of peppermint tea, I wish I could tell you about all the exciting plans I have for this weekend. Alas, I’m going to be spending 13 hours both Saturday and Sunday in work run ragged. When I get home at around 10:30pm tomorrow it’ll take all my energy to get to bed, dinner probably won’t even happen. However I do have the day off on Monday – if I can resist the urge to sleep for the entire day I’ll be cooking something nice for dinner. So I’d better start scouring the blogs and cookbooks and decide what to make!

TFD x

Leave a Reply

